Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Tune Up Your Chakras With Jin Shin Jyutsu

Chakras Seem to be a Buzz Word These Days.

But what are they really? Here is a simple way to find out.
In Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel.” According to Indian metaphysical teachings we have dozens of these spinning centers of vital energy within and around us, each with a specific function. Chakras even glow in different colors, according to the speed at which they spin. The fast-spinning chakras produce cool colors of blue, green and violet. The slower spinners glow warm colors of red, orange and yellow.

Here is an easy way to directly experience your chakras through the acupressure-like art of Jin Shin Jyutsu. One of its techniques, the MAIN CENTRAL VERTICAL FLOW, works with nine pressure points, seven of which are chakras.

Based on ancient knowledge of the body and creation, Jin Shin Jyutsu was passed down orally from one generation to the next and had virtually disappeared in Japan when it was rediscovered in the early 1900's by Jiro Murai, a Japanese philosopher.  As a young man, Murai contracted what was diagnosed as a terminal illness.  He asked his family to take him to the mountains and leave him in solitude for seven days.

In a feverish state, Murai imagined sages in spiritual meditation using hand mudras, which he applied to himself as he went in and out of consciousness.  By the seventh day he was completely healed and he vowed to spend the rest of his life studying the connection between his amazing recovery and the mudras he had used. One of the many mudras Murai used to heal himself is now called the Main Central Vertical flow.  

The Main Central Vertical flow is considered an overall tune-up for the body because it harmonizes and nourishes the spine which is essential in keeping our vital flame of spirit and enthusiasm alive. Holding these pressure points every day can aid in healing spinal cord injuries, breast tenderness, fatigue, scoliosis, disk problems, warm cold feet, blood pressure and digestion problems as well as a great way to begin or end your day.

This Jin Shin Jyutsu process involves placing two or three fingers on each of the nine pressure points, in succession, for two or three minutes, to open up the flow of the chakras.  You may notice a light pulsing sensation like a heart beat as your move your fingers down the center front of your body. This sensation is the energy moving around your body. Other sensations that you may feel as the chakras begin to open are a gurgling stomach or warmth or chills occurring in different areas of your body. You don't have to press very hard.  The energy movement is very subtle, but very powerful!  For best results, practice the Main Central Vertical Flow every day.  It may take ten to twenty minutes.  A good time is right before you go to sleep or first thing in the morning.  Below, is a diagram and the steps to show you where to place your fingers and a brief description of each chakra.

Time to Move Into a More Blissful State

Step 1
Step 1A – With your right hand, place two or three fingers on the top center of your head and leave them there until Step 8.  The Crown Chakra is the violet-colored center at the top of the head.  In Sedona Power Spot, Vortex and Medicine Wheel Guide, Richard Dannelley describes it as “the cross-over point between the physical and the soul.” Stimulating this chakra can help bridge your everyday awareness with consciousness of the higher, or universal self.

Step 1B –  Place two or three fingers from your left hand between your eyebrows. This indigo-hued pressure point, according to Dannelley, is associated with the “pineal gland or ‘third eye’ deep within the brain.” also known as the Anja Chakra.  According to traditional teachings, opening this chakra revitalizes latent energy deep inside the body and may stimulate ESP.

Step 2-  Next, place your left hand on the tip of your nose. There is no chakra related to this pressure point. But according to Jin Shin Jyutsu philosophy, holding the tip of the nose revitalizes the reproductive functions.

Screen shot 2013-09-21 at 9.59.11 AMStep 3–    Now move your left hand to the “V” of  your throat. The blue Throat Chakra is a powerful energy center which, according to tradition revitalizes the Thyroid and Para thyroid glands.  “This is also the chakra of the human voice,” notes Dannelley, adding that “metaphysically”, sound is one of the primary energies of the universe.”

Step 4 – Now place your left hand on your sternum (breastbone) which is midway between top and bottom of your chest. This green Heart Chakra pressure point is the center of your energy system.  When this chakra is open, the Thymus gland is helped and other immune systems are said to be revitalized.

Steps 5. 6, 7 and 8
Remember to breathe slow and deep so you’ll feel the tranquility surface.
Step 5 -Next, move your left hand to just below the bottom of the sternum. This area lies over a nerve center and yellow-colored chakra called the solar plexus. “Mystics and Yogis around the world regard it as the body’s vital center and the seat of the will.” writes Dannelley. It ‘works’ with the adrenal glands and the third eye to draw a healing form of light into your system.

Step 6 – Now place your left hand one inch above your bellybutton. This pressure point isn’t associated with any chakra. But according to Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioners, it works closely with the solar plexus and may aid intestinal functions.

Screen shot 2013-09-21 at 10.00.18 AM
This is step 6
Step 7 – Now place your left hand on the top center of your pubic bone. Leave it there for the next step. This orange-colored chakra is known as The Basic Life Force. “It revitalizes the organs of the lower body, such as the spleen and ovaries,” according to Dannelley.

Step 8 -Finally, place your right hand at the base of your spine. This is the Root Chakra. Red in color and associated with the sexual organs, ” it is your connection with Mother Earth and Her primal Life Force energy,” or kundalini, notes Dannelly. Awakening this energy may improve circulation, especially in the legs and feet.

Now, just rest a little bit longer and enjoy the calmness.  Comment below and tell us how you are feeling.

If you want to learn more about this wonderful ancient healing art, please visit, https://www.jsjinc.net/


Also, there is this book, The Touch of Healing- Energizing Body, Mind and Spirit with the Art of Jin Shin Jyutsu by Alice Burmeister that you can order and learn more on your own time. This clearly written guide contains detailed instructions for practicing Jin Shin Jyutsu on oneself or a partner.  Many of the exercises are so discreet that they can be employed during a meeting or on a crowded street.  You will find dozens of exercises for specific ailments and general well-being.


“We come into the world with an exhalation, to clear and empty us, so that we can receive. We never “take” a breath. We “receive” a breath.” Quote from The Touch of Healing.


No comments:

Post a Comment